4655 Quick Fix Station Throwback Review!

4655 Quick Fix Station

Happy Throwback Thursday! (well… it’s Friday for me in New Zealand, but anyway). Today we’re taking a look at 4655 Quick Fix Station!

4655-1
I remember owning this as a kid, but then it got messed up along with my other bricks. Recently I went on brickset to see if I could find the set again. After digging around, I went “oooooh!” as I spotted it. It has the “Jack Stone”-style figures that many hate, but let’s take a look at the set anyway, shall we? I don’t have the box or the instructions anymore, but luckily brickset has the PDF instructions. When completed, the set comes with a car and a service station. The service station has a big garage for the car, which uses a big mould as its base (which you can see in the instruction). It looks really weird and out-of-scale to the figures, but it’s better than having no car at all. There’s also a big crate to store a jacklift, a walkie-talkie, as well as a spanner. Lights on click hinges and flags are mounted around the service station.

There are also two petrol pumps, one red and one green. The wire pieces can be pulled off and attached to studs. Even now I still think those pieces are rather cool. Unfortunately this part is not shown on the brickset inventory due to it being incomplete. There is also a fast food place, but that has nothing inside except for a big 4×2 red brick that is 3 bricks high serving as a counter, plus a 1×2 printed $100 note (which I like).

There are two figures included: An Octan service station and Jack Stone (whom I thought was a police officer when I was young)

https://i0.wp.com/img.bricklink.com/ItemImage/MN/0/js024.png https://i2.wp.com/img.bricklink.com/ItemImage/MN/0/js028.png

They’re like the male versions of today’s mini-dolls. Their legs are longer and fit on a 2×3 brick (minifigs’ fit on 2×2) and they have no wrist articulation. In addition, they cannot be taken apart, which always disappointed me as a kid.

This set was sold for Β£24.99 in the UK and $25.00 in the US, and for 97 parts that’s pretty pricey. However this was during 2003 when LEGO was not doing so well, and thus a lot of the pieces were big, one-off moulds. Thus, the price is understandable, albeit not excusable.

Personally I think this is a set you definitely don’t need to go out of your way to get, but the nostalgia of this set is very appealing to me. πŸ™‚ Of course, if there is no nostalgia factor, there really isn’t anything too appealing about this set.

Currently on Bricklink this sells for NZ$35 to NZ$152, for which you can get far better sets, so I don’t think you should buy it πŸ˜‰

Do you like these throwback reviews? Let me know by liking and/or commenting down below! Thanks for reading, see you in the next post! πŸ™‚

VaderFan2187 out! πŸ˜‰

2 thoughts on “4655 Quick Fix Station Throwback Review!

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

