76084 The Ultimate Battle for Asgard Pre-Review!

Hey everyone! Today I’m back with a pre-review of the recently revealed Thor: Ragnarok 76084 The Ultimate Battle for Asgard set!

This set will retail for $49.99 USD, and thus I think it will cost £54.99 in the UK and $109.99 in New Zealand.

thor-ragnarok-lego-set-11
Minifigs (from L to R): Hela, Berserker, Berserker, Valkyrie, Bruce Banner, and Thor

The minifigures look pretty good. thor-ragnarok-lego-set-12.jpg
Here’s a closer look at Hela. I like her headdress, but unfortunately it covers her face which, based on trailer material we have seen so far, is inaccurate.

thor-ragnarok-lego-set-13.jpg
Here’s a closer look at the Berserker minifigure. They look rather strange with only big mouths, but I guess they are decent footsoldiers for Hela.

thor-ragnarok-lego-set-14.jpg
Here’s another look at Bruce Banner. He has two faces: one is a regular face and this one is him turning into the Hulk. It’s kinda pointless to see Bruce Banner in this form during the battle, but it’s nice to see an MCU Bruce Banner minifigure.

thor-ragnarok-lego-set-15.jpg
Here’s a look at the Thor minifigure. He has his gladiator helmet on and uses the new Power Blast pieces to represent his lightning. He has great arm printing and I think he has some leg printing too. I like his lightning-eyes but I believe he has a regular alternate face.

thor-ragnarok-lego-set-19
Here’s Valkyrie. I quite like her minifigure and this she’s pretty accurate. I like the blue shoulder cloth as well.

thor-ragnarok-lego-set-16
Hela has a mini-build which acts as a stand for her. It looks kinda like Lord Business’ giant legs. There is a 1×2 hinge brick at the top so her angle can be adjusted.

thor-ragnarok-lego-set-17
There is also this Fenris wolf in the set. It isn’t the greatest looking build but I guess it does add some value to the set. I think it looks a bit messy though.

thor-ragnarok-lego-set-18There is also this spaceship in the set. Valkyrie pilots it. The use of the corner curved slopes makes it look rather juniorized but honestly I don’t know how else it could be done. There are quite a lot of stickers used but I think they enhance the look of the ship. It looks like, if you hold the cockpit section, the Asgard ship will be very swooshable.

34cdayyl
Here’s the ship in the trailer. The circular design is definitely tricky to build at minifigure scale in LEGO and I think the designers did a decent job given the limited parts.

thor-ragnarok-lego-set-110.jpg
Valkyrie fits in the cockpit but I don’t like how she looks like she’s lying down. There are 4 stud shooters which shoot translucent purple 1×1 round plates.

thor-ragnarok-lego-set-111.jpg
Note the use of a grey ingot piece, as well as a hinge 4×4 special plate. I wonder if that is a storage space for the extra stud shooter shots.


Overall, this set has grown on me since the images first appeared. I feel that it is slightly overpriced, but not as much as the arena set. I would probably wait for a 10% or more discount before purchasing. If you are a Thor fan this is a worthy (no pun intended) purchase, due to the inclusion of Hela, Thor, and Valkyrie, while any MCU fan will appreciate a Bruce Banner minifigure.

But what do you think? Do you like the set? Are you excited for Thor: Ragnarok? Let me know in a comment below!

See you in the next post! 🙂

VaderFan2187 out! 😀

One thought on “76084 The Ultimate Battle for Asgard Pre-Review!

Add yours

  1. First thoughts when seeing this set: Lord Business. I wish the ship didn’t use those large circular pieces and relied more on SNOT techniques for the shape, but there was some SNOT sections on the inside, so that makes me like the model slightly more. However, this is also a pass.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

