75191 Jedi Starfighter with Hyperdrive Pre-Review!

How’s it going guys! Today I have a pre-review of LEGO’s 75191 Jedi Starfighter with Hyperdrive set!

This set is based on Obi-Wan’s Jedi Starfighter from Attack of the Clones. Its Singapore RRP is $180 so I suspect its prices will be $90 USD, Β£90 in the UK, and $180 in New Zealand.

Let’s jump right in by taking a look at the minifigures! There are 4 included, which is a little sparse for a set of this size. They are Obi-Wan, R4-P17, Jango Fett, and Boba Fett. It is such a missed opportunity for the inclusion of a Geonosian or a Kaminoan. Also, the inclusion of Jango and Boba likely means we will not see a Jango Slave I anytime soon πŸ˜₯
image1_20170422.jpg
They’re all decent figures I guess, but nothing overly special. It is nice to get a new Young Boba and Jango Fett. Obi-Wan has new printing too.
Screen Shot 2017-05-09 at 12.35.43 PM.png
I like Jango’s new head. His torso has also been updated from the 2013 version.

image1_201704221
The box art is catchy and shows the Jedi Starfighter whooshing out of hyperspace.
75191-12
There are two builds which can be connected: Obi-Wan’s Jedi Starfighter and the Hyperdrive Booster Ring itself.
75191-13.jpg 75191-14.jpg
This is a LEGO Star Wars set, so of course there are stud shooters and spring-loaded shooters.
75191-15
There’s landing gear too, and an opening cockpit for Obi-wan. You can put R4’s head on the turntable and store R4’s body inside the ship. I don’t like how bulky and fat the cockpit looks though. The proportions of the Starfighter are very off, with a large round cockpit and stubby wings, in comparison to the sleek movie variant. It’s rather unfortunate as I would have preferred a bigger, better variant.
75191-16.jpg
The Hyperdrive Booster Ring looks a little bit better. The inside has a bit too much Technic bricks though. The transparent Technic beams are a handle for swooshing, which is good for playability in my opinion. There is also a release handle; I do not know how it works, but generally the LEGO Star Wars team is good at play features so I believe it will work well.


I think this is a good set, but it is heavily flawed as well. The price is alright I think, but the minifigures aren’t great and the Jedi Starfighter looks, frankly, terrible. It’s rather unfortunate as this set had a lot of potential, but as it is, I’ll likely give it a miss.

But what about you? Let me know your thoughts in a comment below! Thanks, and I’ll see you in the next post! πŸ™‚

VaderFan2187 out! πŸ˜€

2 thoughts on “75191 Jedi Starfighter with Hyperdrive Pre-Review!

Add yours

  1. Good review! The ring looks pretty cool, however I agree that Lego completely failed to capture the starfighters’s sleekness 😦

    Keep up the good work!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Jack! It kinda sucks about how stubby the ship is, as I was SUPER excited about this one. The play features are weak too for this price range and thus I’m afraid I’ll give it a miss.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

