60157 Jungle Starter Set Review!

Hi everyone!

Today I’m dipping my toe into the LEGO City Jungle theme with 60157 Jungle Starter Set! This set retails for $9.99 in the US, and I think it retails for £8.99 in the UK and $19.99 in New Zealand.

I tend to like starter sets because they give you a good feel of the theme, several minifigures, all for a good price.

60157_alt7 60157-1.jpg
Here is the first figure. I believe her head and hair are reused but her torso is new. I like the dark orange coloring of her shirt and she looks good overall. She comes with a small grabber-stick (yes, I don’t know what it is), which I guess is used for catching snakes.
60157_alt8 60157_alt11
Here is the second figure in the set: a scientist. His white lab coat and his black hairpiece remind me of Dr. Wu from LEGO Ninjago the Jurassic World theme. I like his goofy expression with the blue glasses. He comes with a magnifying glass and a camera, but I have to question his logic: who brings test tubes in a shirt pocket to the jungle? 🤔
60157_alt9 60157-11
Here’s the third and final figure in the set. He is dressed like the female figure and I guess that’s the LEGO City Jungle outfit. I like his confident smile as well as the new LEGO machete piece.
60157_alt5
You also get a crocodile in the set, which I love. I always like more LEGO animals.
60157-12
Here is a tree! Note the lime green rattlesnake(?) above, as well as the yellow frog! More animals in different colors are always welcome! I believe the snake is a new mold and it looks fantastic.
60157_alt3
If you open a hatch in the tree (??) then you can access three gold coins within! Just watch out for the snake…
60157_alt6
Okay, we got the coins, let’s head back to base. But how do we get back to the base?
60157_alt4
Ahh, here’s a nice boat! I like the twin propellers at the back as well as the jungle logo on the front. This will be a great boat to take the treasure back with! Too bad it only sits one… 😂

So I feel this is a great set. You get 3 good minifigures, a nice boat, a decent tree (with good animals), as well as a crocodile! The value is great and I recommend it if you want to get a feel of the LEGO Jungle theme.

Builds: 3/5
Minifigures: 3/5
Playability: 3/5
Price: 4.5/5
Personal Rating: 3.5/5
TOTAL: 3.4/5

Thanks for looking! Comment below, like, share, do anything you want 😛 I’ll see ya in the next post!

VaderFan2187 out! 😁

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

